NEW - CIOL Qualifications Level 6 Certificate in Translation (CertTrans)


What is the CertTrans?

The CIOL Qualifications Level 6 Certificate in Translation (CertTrans) is an exciting new qualification that provides benchmark evidence of practical working-level translation skills and knowledge.

This qualification has been developed with early career translation skills as its focus, with progression opportunities to higher levels of professional translation in mind for those wanting to work as a translator for translation companies or to build a career as a freelance translator. The CertTrans offers the opportunity to acquire a degree-level translation qualification that demonstrates the ability to work in languages, which will also assist those who want to use their written skills in international organisations worldwide.

The CIOL Qualifications Level 6 Certificate in Translation (CertTrans) is aligned to the UK Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) at Level 6 and shares equivalencies to degrees and other UK qualifications at this level. The qualification is also a step towards the CIOL Qualifications Level 7 Diploma in Translation (DipTrans) which is at Masters level and the widely recognised "gold standard" for professional translators worldwide. 


Is the CIOLQ CertTrans right for me?

The CIOL Qualifications Level 6 Certificate in Translation (CertTrans) is a benchmark qualification for anyone wanting a career working for language services companies, as a freelance translator or to work for international organisations worldwide. It meets the need for a working-level translating qualification.

CIOL Qualifications (CIOLQ) serves professional linguists, sets professional standards and provides qualifications for translators and interpreters which are recognised widely in the UK and around the world.


What are the benefits?

The CertTrans is an Ofqual UK regulated qualification from an internationally recognised Awarding Organisation. It will improve your employability and career prospects.

With it you will be entitled to:

  • Use the post-nominals, CertTrans after your name
  • Apply to join the Chartered Institute of Linguists as a member


What is the qualification's structure?

The CertTrans is composed of three units:

  • Unit 01 - General Translation Skills
  • Unit 02 - Business and Commercial Translation Skills
  • Unit 03 - Government and Public Service Translation Skills

You must take two units to achieve the qualification. Unit 01 is the mandatory core unit which must be selected, then you need to select one other mandatory option unit from either Unit 02 or Unit 03.


What format does the assessment take?

The assessments are taken online from your home or a place of your choosing via our CIOLQ Virtual Centre; or online with a CIOLQ approved Exam Venue in the United Kingdom (UK) and internationally.  Candidates will translate from a source language into English or from English into a target language. The passages set for translation will be of a standard of difficulty that translators at this level would expect to meet in their daily work. 


What languages are available?

The CertTrans will be available in:

Languages offered into English (target language):  

  • Arabic (MSA), Chinese, French, German and Spanish

English (source language) into:  

  • Arabic (MSA), Chinese, French, German and Spanish

Expanding availability into other language combinations will be considered based on candidate and employer interest. ​​​​​​​


Next steps

Download: An introduction to the Certificate in Translation (PDF)


Take the CertTrans - How to prepare, dates, fees and registration (link)
Register for the CertTrans (direct link to book and pay)
CertTrans Frequently Asked Questions (link)
Read the full CertTrans Qualification Specification (PDF)
Join CIOL as a Study Affiliate member (link)
Questions or queries? Contact us by clicking here (web form)
Want to email the CertTrans team directly? Click here (opens in your email client)