Chartered Institute
of Linguists

CIOL Awards

CIOL's Annual Awards


CIOL's Threlford Cup and David Crystal Award celebrate and recognise outstanding contributions in the field of languages.

We also celebrate the exceptional achievement of candidates in our professional language qualifications in translation and interpreting.

You can find out more about each qualification via the links below:

Diploma in Translation
Certificate in Translation
Diploma in Public Service Interpreting



Threlford Memorial Cup

For the advancement and wider use of languages

2024 Awarded to:
Charity Translators


David Crystal Award

Outstanding contribution to the field of languages.

2024 Award winner:
Professor Michael Kelly OBE

CIOL Qualifications award winners


DPSI Best Candidate

Award winner: Rafał Byzdra


DipTrans Best Candidate

Award winner: Katarzyna Trzeciak


CertTrans Best Candidate

Award winner: Jenifer Atkins